Countryside, School & Childhood…

Another night without sleep, I am starting to write a blog again to practice my English writing skill. It has been such boring weeks in Hyderabad, no party to go, no money to spend, just staying at home with mosquitoes. It is an applicable time to leave the city in few days to refresh my mind and change the environment. And I already had a good weekend like this in Narasarapoet, the countryside nearby Hyderabad five -six hours by train or bus.

Rishi and I

Rishi, one of my Indian friend, invited me to attend his friend’s engagement in the countryside. Actually, this engagement was for his friend’s sister who was in arrangement marry. He invited my friend to join. Then, my friend, Rishi, asked me to come with him. So, I was a guest of the friend of my friend who has the sister who engaged …(OMG – I know) :D. Yes, that is India. They are friendly and welcome people to participate their party even if they do know you or not. ( I would like to bold the word “friendly” because there are many things to talk about Indian people what I will share in other posts afterwards. However, for sure that my Indian friends are FRIENDLY). It makes me remember another time that I was in Amritsa with Drik, my Dutch friend, and other guys from Norway, Denmark and Britain. We were on the way to back our hostel at around midnight from a restaurant there, suddenly we heard loud music in a small alley opposite our side. There might be a party there we guessed. We came closer then received a lot of “Hello Bazar, Coming” from local people. It was the party after a wedding of an Indian guy, their friends. Do not need to think, we joined in obviously. After dancing and drinking, they were very nice to give us some tips 10 INR for appreciating us to be happy with their wedding celebration 🙂

Continuing my trip to the countryside, we started to leave our city at 11 PM then reach Narasarapoet at the early morning of the following day.

the dormitory where we stayed

Narasarapoet is really a good small town to enjoy a quite, stay away a noise of big cities. and is also better than Hyderabad, where I am living, in many ways. Roads are clearer, houses are bigger and not very crowded as much as Hyderabad. Narasarapoet is not a tourist place in India as well. Therefore, there are not many tourist people coming to visit as Hampi, another beautiful place in the South. That is one of the reasons I like it. Everything is very Indian, not hotels, clubs or restaurants in Western style around as other tourist places.

The power cut happened again in our room. It must be a month of power cut in India. A sleepless anyhow, we came out for a Chai, the name of tea in India, and for a walk in the town. Indian people have a habit to clean their house by splashing water around every morning. Then, they draw some decorations on the yard in front of their house.

this one is in front of my house in HYD …

Narasarapoet is also Rishi’s hometown where he used to live and grow up. Obviously, there are a lot of memories for him to remind when we were there. First, we visited again a house where my friends lived there then a school where they studied.

the school in childhood
the school in countryside …
big yard where students play cricket during a day …
the door …
and the window …

This school used to be a factory in the war with Britain in India before. After independence day, its function has been used as the local school in town. Because it has been built for very long time ago through different generations; therefore, it has always contained a long story of history

banyan tree

and secrets…

the tower in the school yard…there was a way to go inside before, however, it has been locked by bricks at present…and there are some big deep wells inside school what were filled up in the past …

classrooms behind us …
inside the class …
the classes are not separate…
My friends told me stories when they studied there
I’m learning more about India after this trip …

In my opinion, the children living in the city would receive many advantages than ones living in the countryside. There are many facilities for study with good education, famous teachers, professors and also a lot diversified entertainments after school time. However, there is only one thing that children in cities do not have it that is Childhood. We just have to go to school everyday including weekend for other extra classes from the morning until the evening. And back to home at around 8-9pm ( that are issues in  my country at the moment I would like to share…I used to take the time like this as well ). We do not have summer holiday. In 3 months holiday, we have to also go to school to learn lessons for next school year what we will study again on that time. But because our parents want to make sure that we would catch the knowledge in class, will not be worse than other friends. Therefore, they always do what they want and choose what they think it will be good for us. However,I would say that they are Wrong totally. They do not know what their children really need… Game online, cinema, shopping, coffee shop, karaoke and going around the city are typical entertainments of children in cities.

Children in countryside have no had all of them for sure. However, they have a good childhood. And it is really interesting and funny.

Thanks for the trip to let me find out your Countryside, School and Childhood

Bala and Rishi

One thought on “Countryside, School & Childhood…

Leave a comment