Hampi, a vacation

Long time I haven’t written…

Thursday, 23 July 2015.

Just came back home after a long day in office and school. Feel empty and miss again the trips i had in the past. One of the best trip ever might be Hampi, India. Still remember a saying from my friend “In Hampi, you cannot find anything”. And he is definitely wrong 🙂

First of all, it was not my first time in India, and also not the first one in Hampi. However, Hampi today seems a bit changed from the moment I visited it 4 years ago. The new Hampi is under construction and development but still maintain its own ancient beauty. Anyway, even whether it has been changed or not, at least the Elephant is always there anyway 🙂

Again, it took me 10 INR to let the Elephant put its trunk on my head. It is kind of a worship thing to the local people there. In Indian culture, Elephant is GOD. One of their GOD is in an Elephant appearance and named Ganesha. And I already had an opportunity to serve HIM.

100 INR for a guide, I had fun time to touch and wash HIM in the river. It was such an experience to get closed HIM and I could really see what it was in HIS eyes. A happiness… By the way, this Elephant is a baby girl less than 5 years old I remember. So must call HER actually :p

So, what can you do in Hampi ? Many things you would do and many places you would discover in your own ways in Hampi. For me, 7 days and 7 nights were not enough time. It was really my short trip in India again.

1. Water the trees

Watering the trees is seems so an easy work that you can do. However, those trees were not on the ground or in the garden. They were planted in the high rock mountain by a mother nature and Rakesh, my friend :).

From the left, Rishi, Rakesh and I
From the left – Rishi, Rakesh and I
Rishi with his first tree in Hampi.
Rishi with his first tree in Hampi …
Got tired after carrying ...2 bottles of water for trees...
Got tired after carrying …2 bottles of water for trees…

Posting these photos, I suddenly remember what Rakesh told us about the trees. For him, the tree is the man best friend. The area to plant tree seems not able to compare with the shadow it brings back to human. It aslo observe carbon to leave the oxygen for our human. Its body can be used for firing and buidling material. It then even protect human everytime the god mother is angry and make a flood coming to towns. But what it really needs from human ? Only a little bit water everyday and the waste that human push out.

so
so “RESPECT TREE” – Rakesh’s saying

2. Become a cleaning up crew

After we helped Rakesh to water trees, he let us particitpate in his community service organization 1 member, Rakesh.

hampi7
I participated in Rakesh’ cleaning up crew.
hampi9
Rishi with his magic stick to clean up a whole rubbish in one sec… I really hoped that it could actually make it 😀

3. Do a haircut by an Indian man.

hampi34

Trust me, you would be relaxing lolll

4. Bicycling

hampi24

hampi25

5. Take a roadtrip, buy plants and make new kid’s friend

hampi26

hampi27

hampi28

hampi29

hampi35

6. Make a fire

hampi30
Rishi on fire…
hampi31
full moon

7. Eating food

hampi32

hampi33
Rishi, Nicolas and me @ Tibet restaurant

8. Enjoy a sunset

The sunset would be the best thing that people should not miss when you travel to Hampi or even other places in India, especially in countryside. Most of the time, I spent hours to look at sunset in different points in town.

From a mountain

hampi10
the 1st sunset point
hampi11
and we were not alone…

Another sunset point @ Monkey Temple

hampi15
Me – achieved finally 600 steps to clim the Monkey Temple
hampi12
@ Monkey Temple
hampi13
Meditation in the sunset
hampi14
Rishi – the last one

From the waterfall

DSC_0009
The Hobbit moment
@ hidden waterfall
@ hidden waterfall

From the birth lake

hampi17
@ a lake
hampi18
a moment of life

From a train

hampi22

hampi19

hampi20

hampi21

End of the Hampi trip …Really miss you guys.

3 thoughts on “Hampi, a vacation

Leave a comment