Warsaw – My begining in Europe

Warsaw – capital of Poland
Stalin’s Cultural Center

After 12 hours flying with LOT – Polish Airline from Noi Bai International Airport in Hanoi, I already arrived Warsaw.  It was my first time to see the winter in Europe. The temperature was about -12 degree C, that what an flight attendant informed passengers when the plan was just landed at Warsaw at 6:00am. Thanks to arriving Poland in the morning, the weather was a little bit warm because of the sun. However, for a person coming from the south of Vietnam, HCMC, it was still cold anyway.

Leaving the airport after almost two hours of checking, I had to find a bus to the center of Warsaw where I met my other new friends from Brazil and Kazakhstan. The first shock was the wind when i stepped out the main door of the airport. Then, i felt the cold of winter in Europe at the that moment. Finally, the bus number 175 was coming after ten minutes standing outside to wait it.

the map to OKI DOKI

Fortunately, I met a woman, who is also living near my hostel OKI DOKI, on the bus. She helped me to go there after we got off from the bus.

my room in OKI DOKI Hostel
Barbara and Alufia

My friends (Barbara, a girl from Brazil, and Alufia, another from Kazakhstan) were still sleeping when I arrived the hostel. After taking a rest, taking a shower and being online to update my information for my family and friends in Vietnam, We went out to see around the town.

Old Market in Warsaw
horse in the old town
inside the church
Warsaw University
behind the gate

The sencond shock I should mention to be the empty of Europe. Only one million people living in Warsaw while I come from a city with over ten millions population there. What i saw on those streets were cars, no many people. The reason would be because of the winter …people, therefore, hided inside their houses… it made senses, huh 🙂

Cars and Nobody

Cold and Tiredness, we visited almost a whole town just by walking in hours. My feet seem to be bleeding and painful. It was actually  my first time to walk a lot. I felt very exhausted after the tour city. But it was worthy. I was in Europe now 😀

….to be continued

Leave a comment